Welcome to Beacon

At the 9th Beacon Awards for Philanthropy held in London on 21 April, some of the most inspirational philanthropists across the UK were awarded Beacon Fellowships.

Hosted by Kate Adie, the biennial Beacon Awards celebrate the extraordinary and transformational achievements of individuals and families who have, each in their own various ways, brought about lasting social change through their conviction, their determination and their generosity. The awards celebrate their exploits with the hope of inspiring others to want to follow suit.

They highlight key trends in philanthropic giving and pioneering developments, including the growing trend for donations of money together with time, expertise and social capital to support initiatives all around the UK.

The awards are supported by J.P. Morgan Private Bank, the City of London Corporation’s charity, City Bridge Trust and Pears Foundation.

Collectively, the 17 Beacon Fellows have donated over £300million to philanthropic causes, across a mix of local and global organisations, large institutions and grassroots charities.

The award winners have impacted hundreds of thousands of lives, many are focussing on helping young people including creating state of the art youth clubs, building support networks to prevent children being put into care, helping improve social mobility, confidence and self-esteem. Others have created powerful partnerships between the charity sector and the business world and between philanthropists and local authorities.

Gay Huey Evans, Chair of the Beacon Awards said: “The 2015 Beacon Award winners are exceptional people who have given their time, expertise and financial resources to help people and communities prosper in difficult times. Philanthropy plays a vital role in providing resources to many organisations that keep our communities strong and the Beacon Award winners are outstanding examples of individuals whose giving is having a lasting impact on people’s lives. I know that the Beacon Award winners will inspire others to give and I look forward to sharing the lessons that can be learned from the inspirational example they set.”

Full list of winners

Honorary Beacon Fellowship

  • Trevor Pears CMG

Beacon Award for Philanthropy

Beacon Award for Cultural Philanthropy

Beacon Award for Impact Investment

Beacon Award for an Outstanding Partnership Between a Philanthropist and a Charity

Beacon Award for City Philanthropy

Beacon Trailblazer Award

On 27 January Beacon held a reception for many of our 2015 nominees. The event included an interview with Beacon Fellows Paul Marshall and Marcelle Speller.