Beacon Awards 2017

On 9th May 2017, philanthropists from the worlds of finance, sport, and arts gathered at the Mansion House, London to celebrate inspiring examples of charitable giving.

Powering philanthropy

The Beacon Awards 2017 are about powering philanthropy. The awards are about recognising, celebrating, and inspiring people to give charitably, and to do it well. Each Beacon prize is awarded to someone who is powering philanthropy in their own fields. 

The power of philanthropy

Philanthropy is more than just giving. For those on the receiving end, philanthropy makes a real and tangible difference to their lives. Whether it's lifting people out of poverty; encouraging disadvantaged people to get back into education; or building community relations, philanthropy is powerful.

Philanthropy can inspire others to give, or inspire them to make a positive step in their lives. 

10 Years of Beacon

The Beacon Awards in 2017 will be the 10th Beacon Awards. It’s a momentous occasion, and over the years, we’ve celebrated philanthropists from all backgrounds and fields. From footballers to financiers; from rappers to writers – we’re passionate about powering philanthropy, in all its forms.

The 10th Beacon Awards ceremony will have three new categories, to recognise philanthropy from areas which are traditionally overlooked. 

The new categories are:

  • Beacon Award for Local Community Philanthropy
  • Beacon Award for Innovation
  • Beacon Award for Philanthropy in Sport

To read more about all the categories for Beacon 2017, click here.