Categories for Beacon Awards 2017

There are 10 award categories for the Beacon Awards 2017.

Beacon Award for Philanthropy

The Beacon Award for Philanthropy is the main category for individual philanthropists. More than one award will be made under this category.

In addition to the Beacon Award for Philanthropy we will also be presenting:

Beacon Award for City Philanthropy

This award celebrates the work of a philanthropist based in the City of London, Mayfair, or Canary Wharf. Their work will inspire the next generation of City philanthropists.

Beacon Award for Philanthropy in Arts & Culture

This award celebrates the work of an individual or a small group who has enriched society through their work in promoting arts, culture, and/or heritage.

Beacon Award for Impact Investment

This award recognises those who have addressed social, environmental or charitable concerns - while also generating a financial return.

Beacon Award for an Outstanding Partnership Between a Philanthropist and a Charity

When philanthropists and charities work together, it can inspire others to give well. This award celebrate excellent an excellent partnership between the two.

Beacon Trailblazer Award

The Trailblazer Award was introduced in 2015, and won by hip-hop artist Plan B. The award celebrate those who are early on in their philanthropic journey, yet have already made an impact.

Judges' Special Award

This award is for any prospective nominees who do not fit the above categories.

New categories for Beacon 2017

For the next Beacon Awards, three new categories have been introduced. These are:

Beacon Award for Innovation

Philanthropy can take place in many different forms - this award recognises those whose giving is pioneering or innovative.

Beacon Award for Local Community Philanthropy

Philanthropy occurs at all scales; this award celebrates philanthropy which has benefitted the community in a particular region.

Beacon Award for Philanthropy in Sport

This award will be given to an sportsperson, sporting family, or group of sports people who, through sporting activity, have delivered positive social change.

For more information on the categories, please read the nominations information pack here.